Learning About Conception

Continuing in the theme of my impatience to know when I get pregnant, I was reading about early signs of pregnancy. I want to know about the physical process, and I just learned something new. After conception, it takes 6-12 days for the embryo to implant itself in the uterine wall. By my calculations, that means it implants about between a week and a couple days before you expect your period, so if you have implantation bleeding it could easily be mistaken for an early light period.

When I was on the birth control pill (Ortho Tri-Cyclen Lo… expensive, but it worked and produced no side effects like I had with other pills!) I had light periods and if I missed a pill, then I would often spot early. If you are not actually trying to get pregnant, then you could easily be surprised a couple months in!

Back to my concerns about having wine before I am officially pregnant, here’s a question. When does it actually start to matter? At the moment of conception, or implantation? I imagine that the fetus doesn’t actually start drawing nutrients from the mother’s body until it is actually implanted in the uterus, but I could be wrong. Not that I am getting drunk or anything, but I had a glass of wine with dinner last night and I plan to do the same tonight.

Leave a Reply

