Gender Prediction

One of the first questions people always ask, is “Do you know what you are having?” I may joke and say, “Hopefully a human baby!” But the answer is that when it comes to the sex, I have no idea…

I go back and forth because intuitively, I kind of feel like it’s a boy- I slip and call it “he” and for some reason I can imagine it as a boy much better. But on the other hand, it really likes boy bands and I am carrying like my sister did, who had two girls!

I thought it would be fun to go through the wives tales from this Parenting article and see what they say…

    1. Highs and Lows: This one you can do just by looking south: if you’re carrying high, break out the pink. If your bump is low, you’re carrying a boy. So far I’m right in the middle… IT’S ???
    2. Be Still My Beating Heart: Next time your OB pulls out the Doppler to listen to baby’s heartbeat, ask her to tell you what the heart rate is. According to legend, 140+ beats per minute indicates a girl, and below 140 a boy. At our 20-week ultrasound, the HR was 147… IT’S A GIRL!
    3. Sweet and Sour: Craving ice cream every single day? Some people believe this means it’s a girl. If you have to have salty or sour stuff, then it’s a boy. Ice cream and candy… IT’S A GIRL!
    4. Chinese Birth Chart: This ancient method uses your age at conception and the month you did the deed to determine gender. Try it here! 26 and April… IT’S A BOY!
    5. Potty Time: This one’s a little out there. Pee in a cup (you’ve been doing it at all your prenatal appointments anyway, haven’t you?), mix a tablespoon of Drano in, and watch to see if it changes color. Green = girl, and blue = boy. Hmm I don’t use Drano, but if I get a nasty clog (or find some in a friend’s cupboard!) I’ll get back to you on this one!Β IT’S ???
    6. Even and Odd: Legend has it that the Mayans determined a baby’s sex by looking at the mother’s age at conception and the year of conception. If both are even or odd, it’s a girl. If one’s even and one’s odd, it’s a boy. 26 and 2012… IT’S A GIRL!
    7. Unlocking the Mystery: This is one for a friend to try. Place a key in front of your preggo friend and ask her to pick it up. If she grabs it by the narrow part, she’s in for sugar and spice and all that. If she picks it up by the round part, it’s snips and snails. I can’t really do this to myself…Β IT’S ???
    8. Spot On: If you’re breaking out like crazy, blame it on your girl babe. The belief goes that girls steal their mother’s beauty, hence, those annoying zits. Except for the flush, my skin is fine… IT’S A BOY!
    9. Nice Ring to It: Pop off your wedding ring — if you still can! — and tie it to a string. Hang it over your belly. If it swings in a circle, a little guy’s in your future. If it goes back and forth, you’ve got a girl. I put my rings on my headphone cord and held as still as I could… after the initial movement from the drop stopped, the rings moved in small circles- IT’S A BOY!
    10. Queasy Does It: Sick as a dog during the first trimester — or still? Signs indicate you’re having a girl. Little or no morning sickness points to a boy. Never sick… IT’S A BOY!

So far boy is winning, but by a close margin! This could really go either way!!!

8 thoughts on “Gender Prediction

  1. Oh I like this post!!! I’ll tell you what I had with our girl:
    1.carried high in the pictures i look back at.
    2.HR was high
    3.Savory stuff for the most part during the day but would have a stash of sweets for late night
    4.chinese birth chart said girl and was right! (this time around it says boy and we will test that theory in a week or 2!!)
    5. I bought one of those tests from the pharmacy (that probably had draino in it because it REEKED and sort of eluded that pregnant women shouldn’t hang out around the test lol) and it said boy and was WRONG. And expensive to be wrong. 50$ wasted!
    6. It was right with our girl (thanks for that, never had heard of it…this next one will be a boy if that myth is right!!)
    7. someone did this over my belly at work last time and it wouldn’t sway lol inconclusive.
    8. totally true, i broke out like crazy the first trimester with my girl. This time I’m fine!
    9. I can’t get mine off lol NEED SOAP!
    10. I was sick with both, but definitely SICKER with my first which is a girl. so maybe boy!!! πŸ™‚ Glad you posted this so I could convince myself we are having a boy until we officially find out. πŸ™‚ come see me at http://www.birminghambell.com if you want a fellow preggo to follow.

    • Interesting, can’t wait to see how it shakes out with your next! That’s interesting that the Chinese and Mayans were both right for you… they both say different things for me. I guess I won’t buy any expensive kits haha… ouch!

  2. congrats! looking forward to your journey.. being an advocate for healthy living, have you considered a natural birth at all? if so, I invite you over to my blog.. I’m 26 weeks, and am aiming for as natural a birth as possible and would love to share the journey with other expectant mothers!

    • Thank you! Your blog looks fantastic, I will definitely be following! I am also planning a natural birth at home… I have a great midwife & doula and am pretty psyched about it! I look forward to following your experience, especially since you are at about the same place with your pregnancy as I am πŸ™‚

  3. Pingback: What will it be: Nene or Nena? | My Chubby Baby Bump

Leave a Reply

