Singing Through Labor?

I have been thinking about singing for several reasons.

  1. I did voice training and participated in choirs and musicals for many years, and as a consequence I always had great posture and breath control. Normally to hold my posture, I tighten my abs back towards my spine and stand on the three corners of my feet… Unfortunately, I am finding that with the weight of my growing belly I am unable to use my abs in this way and my posture is starting to really suffer.
  2. I have been trying to sing regularly in the shower, car, and around the house, so that the baby learns my voice and to enjoy song. Plus, I enjoy it!
  3. I read Ina May Gaskin’s Guide to Childbirth a while ago, and just stumbled upon a brief discussion of the Sphincter Law. I am wondering if singing may be a good way to help speed early labor?

The last part of her Sphincter Law says that “The state of relaxation of the mouth and jaw is directly correlated to the ability of the cervix, the vagina, and the anus to open to full capacity. A relaxed and open mouth favours a more open vagina and cervix.”

Think of how relaxed you feel singing in the shower. Or sometimes you might be stressed and tight, but a song you know comes on and you start singing along, and you start to feel looser and happier. If you have ever trained in classical singing, you know that the best tone is created by keeping the jaw nice and loose.

Would making a playlist of your favorite sing-alongs and arias help progress you through early labor? Have you ever sang during labor, and do you think it helped?

Leave a Reply

