Happy New Year!

Last night we spent the evening in and I managed to stay up for the ball drop (check out my photo blog post here!). It was a pleasant evening, and low-key just like I wanted/needed. I was having strong, frequent contractions all night again but ignored them and sat on my ball for much of the night- as I projected, they went away again while I was sleeping so glad I didn’t say anything! One thing I’ve learned and mentioned before is that even if you are having strong, not-BH contractions, it does not mean you’re in labor.

To think I was all worried that I’d go before 36 weeks and have to go to the hospital! Well, today is New Years Day and I am 38 weeks, 4 days pregnant. I am not looking forward to going into the office tomorrow, but just a few more days and it will be that perfect timing I was hoping for! I have to remind myself, though, that even though I have been having all these contractions for a couple weeks now, the baby could still wait a few more weeks before he/she is ready to come out.

I am debating with myself about when I want to start maternity leave… If I don’t give birth by this weekend, do I want to go to work next week when I am “due” on Friday, or just start leave after this week? Or maybe plan to work on Monday and Tuesday then start leave? I have a bunch of projects coming in soon that my coworkers will be taking over, so if they come in early enough I might be able to handle them before I leave. I just have this feeling that as soon as I am gone, they are all going to come in and my poor coworkers will be slammed! The good thing with my office is it is only 10 minutes away so it’s not a big deal to go in or leave if I need to, a lot of my work I can do from home, and I can just work up until I go into labor if I want as long as I keep them updated.

The baby is wide awake now and kicking up a storm, wishing everyone a happy new year!

Leave a Reply

