Personality & Pregnancy

This is just my own little theory, but I think that pregnancy brings out the extremes in a woman’s personality. There are a couple of my own traits that I think are enhanced during all this… my inquisitiveness and my introversion.

First, I tend to be curious about the world and my relationship with it… when I get interested in a topic I can’t read too much or find out enough information about it. I’ve been doing that every step of the way through this pregnancy, and while some may say, You’re driving yourself crazy! I actually think it keeps me sane, I like to feel informed and prepared.

Next, I’ve always been interested in psychology and personality types. Introversion and extroversion are not so much about being shy or outgoing… I definitely don’t consider myself to be a shy person. They are more about how you get your energy. Do you feel more happy and energized after a night out with friends or a family gathering- being with people socially? Or do you feel more refreshed after time to yourself- reading, shooting photos, doing whatever it is you like to do?

I am much more the latter… I love my friends and family, but being around people leaves me exhausted. I am finding that especially now at the end of my pregnancy, I want to be alone as much as possible. I don’t want to answer the same questions over and over again (How are you feeling? When are you due? Do you have any feelings of whether it’s a boy or girl? Do you have names picked out? Are you ready? Are you excited? When do you think the baby will come? Where are you having the baby? Oh, aren’t you worried there will be a problem? Do you have the nursery all set up? Are you going to go back to work? How long of a maternity leave do you get? What are you going to do with the baby when you go back to work? Aaaand many more…) – I know people mean well and are just being nice and making conversation, but it’s exhausting and I just don’t really want to talk about it. I also don’t want to struggle trying to come up with alternate conversation topics (or try to follow conversations I’m not really interested in) because my pregnancy and the baby are pretty much the only thing on my mind… As selfish as I may seem, I’d rather just avoid social situations all together and distract myself with episodes of Gossip Girl on Netflix, cleaning, pregnancy exercises, reading forums, etc.

Luke has been so supportive through all this… he doesn’t mind all the research I do because I just tell him the interesting stuff so he doesn’t have to do it himself! And when I don’t want to go out or do anything, he’s totally fine with it- he’s gone out a couple times without me (totally fine with me!) and is now with me declining invitations and just watching TV with me and making sure I’m comfortable. Whatta man! 😉

4 thoughts on “Personality & Pregnancy

  1. I feel the same way about going into social situations! 1. I have to make conversation when I’d rather be at home watching trashy reality shows. 2. I have to put on a bra. #2 is really the worst. Torture I tell ya!!!

  2. I think the never ending questions are tiring and we’ve only told a handful of people! There was something nice about it only being hubs and I that knew. It was a fun little secret to keep between us but I guess now we have to get used to telling lots of people and having lots of people give us their opinions. Sigh.

    • Agreed… That’s why at the beginning of our pregnancy, even though a lot of people had already guessed we waited to make the announcement. That time together is so vital! 🙂

Leave a Reply

